The hotel was formerly La Villa Eugenie, the summer residence of Napoleon III and Empress Eugenie. The Emperor romantically built it in 1855 for his spouse who adored Biarritz since her childhood. La Villa Eugenie became a hotel in 1893, and has hosted many royalties, celebrities and generations of families ever since. Its luxurious decoration remains faithful to the Second Empire and antiques are lovingly restored by the hotel¿s craftsmen. It is a grand resort overlooking Biarritz main beach La Grand Plage and offers breathtaking views.
Many monuments and natural wonders can be visited in the city and in the area such as the Rock of the Virgin, the sea museum, the lighthouse, the fishermen harbor and La Cote Des Basques.